The Six Fullbringers

Beginning to understand why editors command more money when they have more experience.

Experience like, knowing all the shortcuts keys and skipping that “click and drag” to timeline altogether. Even avoiding the mouse if they could. Experience like dealing with stupid clients who just don’t understand the basic concept of editing videos. First of all,it is not a fancy version of PowerPoint, we don’t label “Frames” as “Slides”, stupid. Editing takes time. Yeah sure we could create a fairly simple TVC out easily sometimes but to actually change the whole storyboard and still asking for the same dateline, what the fuck do you think we are, fucking magicians??!! Fuck no!!! To call yourself a Marketing Executive, seriously which website did you download your certificate from bitch!

The clients being Singaporean, clearly wants more bang for buck. That typical “Kiasu” can be seen in all the TVCs I did. “Can this crawler move slower” on a 10s TVC with 15s or more texts squeeze into that crawler. “Could you fill up the screen or this text move to the side”. Dude seriously title safe. “Could you add more product shots here?” in every 2s of the TVC. And the worst of them all, the motherfuckers who gave me materials at 5pm and except me to finish it by tomorrow.

Ok, so I kinda know what I’m getting myself into when I choose to be an editor. I mean long hours and going thru the same materials over & over again, ok fine. In fact, being editor is much more relaxing then being a Producer/AP/PA. I just hate the fact that I’m doing so much more work when there are clearly two more AE like me around. Yeah, of course the experience I got is very rewarding in a way. I can’t say it is the same about my salary. Being paid as an Assistant Editor. Yes, I am an ASSISTANT EDITOR doing an EDITOR job. All that mad rush to complete the projects or even receiving that simple thank you or pat on your back (rarely happens) ; can make me any happier about my pathetic pay. I’ve heard editors being able to demand more money then me and do relatively nothing.

The rest of the editors are barely around thanks to my Boss. Stupid round fat ass motherfucking bitch.Send all of them to an AP course when they were hired to edit videos. Stupid right. Somehow their courses are always together, so when they are not around, I’m the only guy to clear their shit. There are 2 more editors around but they are always busy with other projects. So its up to me to do recording, dumping, burning, digitizing, exporting and editing all at the same time. Once I had to dump 6-7 ads plus a TV program at the same time. Its a vicious cycle.

I don’t know how I’ve manage to survive this long, tolerating all the bullshit from clients and that stupid boss who ALWAYS side with clients. And to actually complete all that last minute work practically every week. I mean there is really nothing to look forward to, no “thank you”s or nice paycheck by end of the month. All I’ve got are more datelines and last minute changes, and the Boss constant bickering about datelines then treating you like shit for little mistake. Producers who don’t know what to do when given another producer job (say one of them is on MC) and except me to find out about the project.

I can go on forever about this bullshit. I don’t hate being editor. I hate the projects and the ignorant bunch.

~ by DuckDrake on December 13, 2011.

Leave a comment